The education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a number of countries, educating the youth is predominant. However, some people think that the elderly who are illiterate should have a higher priority in receiving an education and more resources should be allocated to governments. I totally disagree with this statement and I believe that educating the youth should be prioritized. This essay will discuss this point of view in greater detail. The youth should be given a higher priority in education since they represent the future of a country. A majority of countries prefer to invest in youth by allocating more money and resources, therefore providing more opportunities for them to improve their skills. Since the younger generation will replace the older ones, taking over their jobs and duties, the quality of knowledge will play a vital part in developing a country. For instance, in Kazakhstan, the government provides scholarships for students who demonstrate aptitude for studying. After graduating from the universities, students are obligated to work in the country for three years, thus paying taxes and otherwise taking part in the advancement of the nation. Another reason behind the fact that the elderly are less favoured in being provided education is their natural tendency to perceive information at a slower pace. It is a scientifically proven fact that, as people age, they can lose their ability to receive information effectively. This is the reason why providing opportunities for the elderly to educate is deemed ineffective by governments. This also explains the tendency of different companies to populate their workplaces with younger specialists. To conclude, providing education for the younger generation must have a higher priority. This is because the youth is seen as successors of a nation since they will continue working for the benefit of their societies as well as being more able to receive information effectively. Considering all the above, governments should put more effort in educating their young.