Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some authorities think that it is more favourable for students to start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than starting at secondary school. This essay will discuss that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will suggest that the earlier student learns a foreign language the more likely they are fluent in that language, and it bring benefits to students in overall education. However, some people say that it can confuse the children with their mother language, but it is not valid. The main reason to start learning language in primary school is that it can improve their fluency when they are older. Since they start at young age, they will have more years to make perfect in that language. For example, in countries such as Holland and Norway, English is taught from a very young age. When they become adult, more than 95% can speak in advanced level. Learning a second language also helps to improve overall development of child’s brain. According to Cambridge University found that children who learn a language before 5 was more likely to get high marks in other subjects. On the other hand, some believed that it can confused the children with their mother tongue. However, there is actually no evidence to support this view and children can become fluent in both languages. My sister learnt Chinese since she was six and she speaks both languages very well. Her score at school are higher than other children. In conclusion, if children start learning language earlier, it can lead to higher fluency and improved the overall brain functions. That’s why, the advantages outweigh.