Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Global training is crucial for personal and integral development. However, the advent of new types of teaching has led to most students focusing on their specific skills instead of receiving complete training, although many others still argue the importance of integral learning. I partially agree with these statements, and from my perspective, both have to be taken into account. In this essay, I explain both sides in detail. To start with, education and societies have constantly changed because human thoughts, feelings and insights are dynamic, thus many governments have proposed that students have to concentrate on a specific field where they show the highest performance. Nevertheless, because of those modifications, cultural and general knowledge as well as integral capacities have dramatically decreased in high-school students. For example, there is a well-known (a) global exam called 'Pisa' that evaluates general and specific skills about the most basic topics, such as mathematics, biology, social sciences, etc; nonetheless, since 2016, the majority of the students have been positioned into the low-medium categories without outstanding results. On the other hand, traditional educators still argue the necessity to establish ways where overarching topics must be taught, and many other skills, which nowadays are not learned but are crucial for survival, such as cooking, camping, swimming, and electricity, should also be dictated. For this reason, many schools have developed and integrated the majority of the knowledge by doing complete curriculums. For example, in Colombia, The Government set a rule in which all national schools must change their pensum in order to teach programming code, carpentry and social work. To sum up, both sides should be carefully evaluated in order to improve not only personal skills but also integral, general and cultural performances. Besides, cutting-edge technologies have modified the ways of teaching and learning and all of these should be leveraged.