Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many researchers think that it is more favorable for pupils to begin studying a foreign language at primary school instead of secondary school. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages. The essay will first convey that the earlier someone learns an additional language the easier to master it and it also brings cognitive benefits, followed by the analysis of primary disadvantage, namely confusion with their native tongue which is not valid. The main important reason for children to start learning foreign language early is that this increases the probability that they will achieve fluency in adulthood. This means that they will have more years to enhance and complete their skills and finally seem to be able to speak bilingually. Most of the children nowadays in our country are now starting to learn English in their Kindergarten and majority of those can now speak at an advanced level at their teenage ages. Learning a second language improves overall cognitive abilities. A recent survey found that the children who studied a new language in their childhoods were significantly more likely to outperform in their classes. Some parents oppose this view and say that this causes the child to confuse between their mother tongue and the new language. However, there is no evidence to support this view and children from bilingual families are doing well in both languages. I give myself as an example since I have grown up in a bilingual speaking family with Chinese and English. In conclusion, it can be seen clearly that studying foreign language early leads to higher benefits in fluency and brain development which outweigh the minority opposition to confusion of languages.