“Prevention is better than cure”, Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The spread of diseases is pushing scientists toward further research to limit their evolution. However, they require a huge fund to be able to investigate and develop knowledge regarding every single disease. Therefore, it is thought that preventing such illnesses is a better solution. This essay disagrees with the following statement and explains why further studies should be conducted. To start with, a number of maladies are not preventable and unpredictable. Thus, taking preventive measures will not make any difference in their progression and transmission. Definitely, there are some preventive measures that might limit the spread of illnesses such as wearing personal protective equipment when dealing with covid patients; but, this does not kill the bacteria or virus itself. For example, covid 19 had recently killed more than a million persons despite the lockdown and the strict interventions taken at a global level for a whole year. On the other hand, studying the nature of bacteria and viruses helps in a better understanding of illnesses and is considered a vital element in creating advanced treatments. Unfortunately, the world is facing various types of diseases that can not be cured without clear analysis thus, conducting extensive research is the only method for a cure. For instance, doctors were not able to control the rapid evolution of Covid 19 until a vaccine was created after 2 years of suffering. To conclude, money spent on research is thought to be extreme and could be paid on preventive measures instead. In my opinion, although it is recommended to take essential precautious steps to limit the spread of diseases; nevertheless, conducting scientific studies is the only option for a cure.