In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customer travels to large shopping centre and mall to do shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

Unquestionably, every coin has two sides, and so it is humans too. People are divided over the topic of huge shopping centres and the effect it has on local vendors. Many small shops have closed their operations because folks prefer to purchase from malls. This has created humungous debate among the public. Some of them are in its support, due to their many benefits. Whereas, others will highlight its demerits first. In my essay, the advantages and disadvantages of the phenomenon will be discussed along with a sensible conclusion. Initiating with the points in support of its merits, the key benefit that can be stated is that it makes purchasing goods much easier. These complexes house all kinds of products with a variety of options. To cite an example, local convenience stores will not store medical supplies. Therefore, a buyer needs to hop to shops to complete the shopping. But, if the buyer goes to Walmart, they can complete their task in one place. Furthermore, the centres offer considerable discounts on a range of products, enticing more customers to their place. Local vendors cannot compete in such scenarios. For example, Walmart purchases directly from manufacturers and hence can afford to pass on the benefits to the end customers. But small shop owners have to go through distribution centres and cannot compete in terms of discounts. As a result, shoppers prefer big-box stores. On the contrasting side, people, who are against this development, say that, it creates unemployment. As the small shops are shutting down their operations, owners are out of jobs, which in turn brings down the nation's economy. Additionally, if they seek employment in big shopping malls, they are paid minimum wage. To cite an example, the employees of Big Bazaar are reportedly earning only twenty thousand per month, because they are non-skilled and semi-skilled workers. In addition to this, such malls have a problem with traffic and crowd management, creating a nuisance for the concerned authorities and the general public. In conclusion, neither its pros can be neglected nor its cons. It is a mixed bag of positives and negatives. In my opinion, the government should provide incentives to small enterprises to encourage them to continue their operations. However, it will depend on the mindset of the people, which point of view is favoured by them.