Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While it is true that some people argue that the major environmental issue nowadays is the loss of some species of flora and fauna. While I accept that this may suit many people, I believe that there are more important environmental issues that are causing our mother earth to get damaged over every generation. On the one hand, the extinction of some particular species of plants would cause a linkage of the food chain in nature. For example, the number of herbivores that consume that plant would decrease and it may lead to a decrease in the number of animals in the next pyramid level. Hence, a great deal larger animals would try to obtain their meals from the other routes as well as eat crops planted difficulty by the farmers and target domestic animals as their prey. On the other hand, air pollution and water pollution were also important environmental problems caused by human beings. Carbon monoxide produced by transportation, and fumes that contain chemical production were namely the principal cause of air pollution. Water was polluted by human beings by adding excess fertiliser when growing crops, removing toxic chemicals from factories and throwing waste into rivers or drainage which may cause the blockage. Global warming was also an example of an environmental problem that broke down the ozone layer and ultraviolet light would shoot in and causes the temperature of the globe to rise. In addition, glaciers and icebergs melt, polar bears were forced to swim for a long period; water levels rise, and lots of areas that are lower would be flooded including the Maldives and some islands. In conclusion, although the loss of particular species of plants and animals would cause environmental problems, there is still tremendous example of problems that are more important to cause damage to our earth.