Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, cars act as a necessary part of our life as each family owned at least one. This leads to heavy traffic jams all around the world, and these can be reduced by government start to take action. There are many ways that the government can help in reducing the time of using cars. Firstly, they can increase the prices of diesel and electricity power. The huge paid for petrol and electricity will force them to use their cars wisely. For example, a short journey can be changed to riding a bike or just walking on your own. Secondly, they can introduce a more useful public transport system for people daily basis. The bus or train comes on time and systematically will bring more confidence to the users. This will show a great decline in the use of cars if the program is running successfully. Finally, the tax for buying cars should be increased as this is the most direct way can reduce car ownership. People who cannot afford the taxes should try another way like public transport transportation. It is true that the roads now have always been crowded with cars. A very good example shows me that,usually journey from Parit Raja to Johor Bahru takes 90 minutes, and now becomes at least 120 minutes, especially on holidays. Many families have more than one car now, as we can observe by the car parking outside their houses. This results in a bad situation as the number of cars gradually increases. In conclusion, the number of owning cars can be controlled by the government if they really focus on the problem and the action.