Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been witnessed that, some old buildings are preserved more than others, ranging from ancient monuments and royal residences to thousands of years old bungalows belonging to our ancestors. In my opinion, this holds greater importance in our lives than what we realise. First of all, maintaining and preserving the old buildings around us connects us to history. Because of the homely feeling, we are deeply connected to these culturally rich properties in our subconscious mind. Secondly, reading about the chronicles of certain buildings like monuments, museums, forts or palaces tells us about how battles were fought by various dynasties in ancient times to protect their lands and the people living in their territory. For example, if we look at various forts and fortresses in India, which are situated on top of some hill from where the king could see the enemies encroaching on their territory from any direction. Moreover, to reach the top, the passages were built in a way to make them as wearying as possible. Thirdly, a few monuments like the Taj Mahal, are safeguarded for their intricate designs which are not only adored by the Indians but also by tourists all over the world. To add more to this, the population living in villages might renovate their ancestral houses but never sell them because, nowadays, buying a new property as grand as the old one requires a lot of financial resources. Moving to disadvantages, to accommodate the large population, we need more land and if we do not demolish the older property, how will we construct the modern ones? Secondly, comparing the work of upcoming architects with their old counterparts might put them in stressful situations. To summarise, in my opinion, the advantages of conserving old buildings far outweigh the disadvantages. In this fast pacing world, humans find comfort and are found deeply attached to ancient architecture and structures.