In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In number of nations a rising number of the population are coming down with well-being problems as a consequence of excessive consumption of fast foods. Some people have a view that authorities ought to increase tax on such food items. For my part I completely disagree with this view and believe in that imparting health related knowledge, education to the citizens and banning junk food items are the best way to deal with this problem. Undoubtedly, it is noteworthy that eating too much fast foods leads to health illness, food borne diseases such as obesity, overweight, heart disease, chronic health. To tackle this, the government should enhance overall awareness of citizens towards this problem by publicity and education than imposing higher levy as it will in crease the disadvantage of middle classes people. For instance, in most of the countries, there are more than 50% of middle class and if the authorities impose higher taxes on food items they will be affected a lots. Therefore, educating citizens and making them release about the health issues drive from the excessive consumption of fastening food. From an economic point of view, the counter-argument raised by objectors is that the revenue from the higher tax could improve the country’s healthcare system. This decision could be attributed to the fact that the healthcare system spend a huge of budget on population with diet-related health problems and the levy could help fund on it. This argument is true to some degree; however, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is that those have caused their own illness because of their choice of consumption and the government does not have to responsibility to pay or help for the medication. In conclusion, I am convinced that imposing tax will not help much in solving the health issue for reasons mentioned above.