Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The advertising industry has grown significantly lately. Many people believe that advertisements have successfully convinced customers to purchase products, while others think that advertising has become usual and no longer receives the same attention. This essay will discuss both these views. On the one hand, advertising has succeeded in attracting people to certain products and convincing people to purchase them. This powerful effect is due to every single advert people read, listen to, or watch has been previously planned by experts. The colours of the adverts, the length, and even the background music during the adverts target the person on the other side. Moreover, advertisements appear everywhere for instance on the streets, in media, and even in every moment like when people communicate with their family and friends online. Some ads have meaningful content such as the ad of Apple “Shot on iPhone” which reminds humans to take care of our planet. For those reasons, customers are unable to resist the desire of buying products. On the other hand, although these advertisements successfully create an impact on society, the effects of advertising decrease because ads are found everywhere so, they had become unnoticeable. Because the excessive promotional techniques lack creativity with time, people feel bored, they tend to skip ads and continue with their regular purchases. Moreover, customers are more aware of the quality of products and they have started to be more conscious about what happened behind the screen. In conclusion, many people believe that adverts can make customers buy things, while others think that our attention to adverts has disappeared. I strongly believe that advertisements have become common and have lost attention over time.