Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two sides to whether advertisements are still affecting a person’s purchase behaviour. In this matter, I agree that it has tremendous ways of guiding us on which to buy, even though others claim they are no longer influenced by it regardless of how many methods it has. On one side, in our daily life, we face all kinds of advertisements, such as website banners, street boards, and brand logos everywhere even on our clothes. Some people think they do not focus on these advertising campaigns anymore due to over-usage. For instance, big-screen commercials on crowded streets have been one of the most efficient methods before the smartphone becomes popular. If we look at the street, it explains why this method is not practical, as half of the pedestrians only look at their phones and barely see their road. Although it is true that technology changes human behaviour, I think we should not ignore its persuasion completely. On the contrary, it affects our decision-making process without giving us no clue about doing it. Today, it is no more secret that our information is being collected by tech companies. Moreover, their data scientists develop AI, capable of predicting users’ next purchase based on previous actions made on the internet. Take, for example, Facebook with the highest number of social media customers and Google with the most searches made every hour swap data in order to understand its users and offer detailed deals align with user characteristics. Consequently, I believe companies are able to advertise their products to the targeted segment where people have a high chance to buy them. In conclusion, some people believe advertisement is the most influential on purchase, while others argue that it is not anymore. however, commercials may seem no longer effective, but they can be successful with the help of the data we give unintentionally.