Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are some good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people reckon that wildlife should be retained in zoological parks because they can have a longer life compared to those living in forests, while others argue that they should live in their natural habitat as it makes them happier with freedom. In this essay, both sides of view will be explained before my perspective is reached. On the one hand, wild animals living in zoos always have a longer life expectancy. Due to proper nutritious foods and medicinal care from a vet, every creature here is likely to have a longer life. Dissimilar to those living in nature, they have to suffer from being hunted by predators, natural disasters, as well as food and water deficiency, which can lead to a decrease in the number of some species of animals, and eventually extinction. For example, according to the Natural Geography report, the number of polar bears has dramatically decreased due to severe ice melting at the North pole, which is one of the consequences of Climate change. Therefore, the living conditions of animals living independently are uncontrollable and contribute to early death. On the other hand, living their entire life in a cage can lead animals to suffer from anxiety and depression because zoos are not their real habitat of them, which is just a place imitating nature. To illustrate, if you were trapped in the rooms for a year, how would you feel? Similarly to animals in zoos, despite being with all the necessary staff such as food, medicine, and air conditioning, you are still stressed because you do not have freedom. Based on the statistical data revealed by Khao Yai sanctuary,Thailand, elephants are less aggressive and more relaxed when they are in the forest surrounded by trees and their friends and family instead of being in a cage alone. That's why some people wildlife should live in a wild. In conclusion, although animals can have longer life expectancies with the proper care of zoo workers, I think that they should live in their habitats because zoos are considered prisons for them and life without freedom is worse than death.