Bullying is a big problem in many schools. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Bullying has become a major issue in many educational institutions. In my opinion, young people themselves and the media are the main contributors of the phenomenon and it can be mitigated through education and regulation. To start with, as students are cognitively immature, they may use improper ways to fulfill their needs and can be affected by others easily. For instance, pupils may fulfil their esteem need by bullying others. For the more bully, the behaviour may serve as satisfying his need of being secure. Research has shown that may buyers have experiences of being bullied, implying that they are protecting themselves through the action. Meanwhile, young people are prone to media influence. Television shows, online videos, movies and social media which showcase bullying may facilitate the behaviour since young people may imitate what they have seen without a careful consideration. To solve the problem, education and regulation are suggested. To begin with, teachers can provide alternative ways for students to boost their self-esteem. For example, talking to a trusted adult is a way to maintain a sense of security. By doing so, potential buyers may seek a more healthy way to satisfy their needs. Meanwhile, regulating the media by banning them to shape bullying as a fancy thing, or by requiring them to take videos with bullying scenes out of their shelf may be a good idea. If bullying is consistently being described as a bad thing, it may reduce the chance of teenagers copying that behaviour. At the same time, it can also protect children from inappropriate videos. To conclude, children's demands need to be satisfied in appropriate ways and the media should be monitored in order to reduce the frequency of bullying.