It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many argue that young ones are to be thought what is right and what is wrong. Others also suggest that, it is the wrong timing and that, they are to be corrected in their adolescence age. There is no iota of doubt that, punishment is not helpful in training these children. However, this essay will explain the reason I totally agree with the motion and suggest ways to correct them when they go wrong. To begin with, teaching these minors the right thing from the beginning makes them not repeat it in future. For example, a child that is cautioned at the early stages of life not to steal because it is a bad thing to do always keeps in mind not to do so. It is known by many that, whatever these kids see, hear or do will forever be in their long-term memory and hence, it is the right time to do so. On the other hand, if they are not corrected when doing the wrong thing, such behaviours are likely to be repeated in the subsequent years. Furthermore, punishment is an essential tool in raising these offspring. The Bible says "spare the rod and spoil the child". There are several ways to correct a child and discipline is no exception. For instance, when I was a kid, I picked up money from my mother's wallet to purchase some biscuits. Later on, my mother could not see the money and she asked me but I denied it. The following week, we went to her friend's funeral and I picked up money from someone's bag. Suddenly for me that day, I was caught and was given two lashes of cane and also my mum refused to buy me cookies when coming back from work. Not only that, she reported me to my Sunday school teacher and I felt so embarrassed. Later that evening, she sat me down together with my father and my other siblings to advise us. From then, I realized stealing is a sin to God as a Christian and also if caught, one is been penalized. Parents can lash their children when they go wrong or report to their teachers whereas teachers could allow these students to read at least two books from the library each day and write an essay to say such acts will not be repeated. To conclude, children are to be educated on the good and bad deeds in society right from the scratch. Punishment on the other hand should not be exempted. Parents together with teachers are to instil discipline in these as soon as possible. Punishments like canning, reading and writing an apology letter are among those that could be implemented.