In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some parents tell their kids that nothing is impossible for whoever tries hard to achieve things. In this essay, I will discuss the advantage and disadvantages, and give my own personal opinion with examples of this matter. In most Asian cultures, a negative effect can be seen by persuading their children too much with pushes in order to test their potential. The reason behind this is that parents tend to make their children achieve things they could not. As a consequence, kids sometimes become exhausted and burned out while trying to reach the goals made they set. In my experience, my father told me that I could be a good air rifle shooter due to not only my aim but also his dream in truth. After spending six years of training, I finally gave up and realized it was not what I wanted. On the flip side, others believe youth need to be inspired so as to achieve anything with hard work. Since If they can do something they could not in the past with a lot of practice, they gain confidence during the journey. Take, for example, when I moved to a new school where everyone was speaking English, I had not understood what they were talking about. After two years of trying my best, I took third place in a grammar competition in the city I lived. Later, this event was the base of trusting myself and helped me to become who I am today. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons to telling children that they are able to reach targets if they work hard. However, pushing their limits with parents' personal goals might leads to exhaustion, they can start believing in themselves after seeing the results of their hard work.