Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Nowadays, there has been an upward trend in people watching foreign films rather than locally produced films. Although most viewers may not fully comprehend the dialect or the language spoken in these films, there are subtitles encoded in the screen which removes the language barriers and helps gain a wider audience and viewership. The governments must also give more financial support to local film industries since they reflect the customs and culture followed in these nations since the early days. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for the cause and why governments must provide more incentives to local cinemas. Firstly, one of the main reasons why most people prefer watching foreign films is because of the state-of-the-art technology involved in producing the movie. In other words, to reiterate, for example, this involves visual effects, lighting, sound editing, animations and action scenes produced in never-before-imagined production sets. For instance, there are also the high costs and time involved in the various stages of making these movies which are futuristic and captivate the viewers with a sense of awe. Furthermore, in theatres and cinema halls, folk would rather prefer watching an action-packed or comedy foreign film which would enable those watching to understand the culture, dialect and folk of that region than a boring movie in their own dialects enacted by average actors and filmmakers. Despite the above-mentioned causes for more viewership of foreign movies, the government must dedicate some of the funds to promote local film industries to grow and captivate a bigger audience. To give a clear example, since the local films depict the various nuances and happenings in the region with a timeline of events from the past, they could get a better critical response from local audiences. The regime must aim to promote culture and diversity by providing incentives to the local cinemas so that they can not only have a greater number of spectators from within the region but also from abroad. In conclusion, although most people are inclined to watch foreign films, if the government takes action by providing financial support to local film industries, it can greatly increase the viewership among the local crowd.