Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment ; only govt and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, climate change is an issue that involves humankind. There is more pollution in the air, temperatures are increasing and animals are extinguishing. Someone is convinced that only governments and lobbies can make a significant difference. I do not agree with this opinion and I think that every one of us can give a little contribution in order to make an impact. We live in an enormous society that counts billions of people on the planet. Although individuals underestimate their potential in order to improve the environment, exists a wide number of little actions they can make. Firstly, we should downgrade the amount of meat that we consume every day. Few people know that behind this industry there is a huge waste of water. This doesn't mean that we should avoid meat from our kitchens, but limiting the consumption of it to just once or twice per week. For instance, in order to produce 1 kilogram of meat, we need from 5000 to 20000 litres of water. These are crazy numbers for today's society. Secondly, people have to use more public transport, when it's possible. Especially in large cities, trains and buses allow everyone to join each part of the city and at the same time reduce the traffic. Maybe it should be a little bit longer, but it's worth it and often cheaper than using the car. A demonstration of this is the initiative taken by Melbourne, which has created a free tram zone in the city centre, so as to allow the citizen to take advantage of this. To conclude, I strongly believe in indivual power and I'm convinced that a little effort from everyone maybe cannot fix the environment's crisis, but surely can reduce it. On the other hand, lobbies and governments should play their role, due to the fact that they have a big power to help resolve the problem.