In some countries, government are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The city centres are the main hubs every company is looking for, when they are trying to establish a business due to the variety of facilities they can enjoy. Nowadays, it is widely seen that many countries entice businesses to move to regional areas. There are both advantages and disadvantages due to this geographical shift in industries. The impact of both sides will be thoroughly analyzed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, city centres are the hub for many industries and businesses. For instance, in Sri Lanka, the headquarters of most of the large and medium enterprises are situated in the heart of Colombo. Due to this, people from all parts of the country are travelling to Colombo daily creating heavy traffic jams and pollution. Furthermore, this has a negative impact on productivity and cost of living. Thus, when the businesses are moved to the suburbs, it creates job opportunities for the residents in the regional areas and also the movement directly contributes to the development of infrastructure and public services in the regional areas which in turn will reflect on the development of the country. Nevertheless, the movement of businesses and industries to regional areas could also affect the development of the company at the beginning. For example, due to the unavailability of the proper infrastructure and adequate public services like transportation and health care, companies and employees could face difficulties during the initial period. Therefore, it is clear that there are challenges faced by enterprises when moving to the outskirts. To summarize, there are both benefits and drawbacks to moving enterprises to suburbs. However, after a thorough analysis of both advantages and disadvantages, it is clear that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks of moving industries and businesses to regional areas.