Some people say that history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps the present. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

It is argued that studying historical events in the past isn' t valuable, but others believe it is valuable knowledge to help improve our lives. A lot of people didn' t take the time to look back and study past events. I will discuss both perspectives and give my own opinion. Firstly, those that think learning about history isn' t crucial for them because they focus on the present and the future but don' t look back at the past. People who don' t focus on the past want to improve their current life and make tomorrow better than today. For example, John Li, a Chinese business millionaire who develops and improves artificial intelligence in China, when he was a child he was bullied by people around him because he was poor, but he didn' t look back at the past and started working his way through the corporate ladder, starting his first company, Wang Tech, and kept improving himself to be better every day. Thus, these are people who look into the future to improve themselves. Secondly, people who study history want to avoid making the same mistakes as others in the past. Like a lot of ancient leaders, that caused their kingdoms to be destroyed. For instance, Qin Shi Huang, the first emperor of China, managed to conquer and unite China in only 10 years, but the mistakes he made caused his kingdom to fall. Because he never appointed an heir due to a lack of trusting anyone around him, when he died, every court member tried to be emperor but all failed, causing the Qin dynasty to fall. Hence, history helps us avoid mistakes caused by our ancestors. In conclusion, those who don' t look into the past because they want to improve their present and better their future, while those who study the past want to avoid the past mistakes of their ancestors.