every year several languages die out. some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Language is what makes us human. Even still, some have almost celebrated the fact that the breadth of world languages is gradually dwindling, believing it will somehow ease global communication. This essay will not only show this notion to be faulty but also why the richness of our linguistic diversity should be preserved. The first reason why language is vital is that it is so intimately intertwined with the speaker’s culture. Though these languages can evolve over time, concepts which are of deep importance and relevance to a people are directly expressed through each regional dialect. In some northern Canadian indigenous languages, for example, there are dozens of words to describe snow and somehow forcing them to use just a few synonyms would directly diminish their contextual functionality. Communicating in some lingua franca would be a blight on the cultural heritage of billions. That is not to mention one could even argue languages are not only relevant to isolated communities, but instead part of a global linguistic eco-system. Just as we tirelessly strive to protect biodiversity, maintaining a living link to each branch of a language group’s tree only makes our collective knowledge stronger. Foundational teachings from ancient civilizations have already been lessened in their profoundness as, more often than not, their precise words have been lost to mistranslations over time. It seems cruel to purposefully condemn future generations to an otherwise preventable injustice. In conclusion, as language reflects culture and knowledge is preserved by its speakers, we should unquestionably endeavour to save as many languages as possible. Once they are gone, there is no one to blame but ourselves.