Many students take part-time jobs whilst studying in a university. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

A significant number of undergraduates take an hourly-paid jobs whilst in a tertiary. This may be due to several reasons that one could think of, however, I believe the negative effects this has on the student outweigh the benefits, as will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, there is no doubt that when a scholar undertakes a part-time work while studying, he is able to support himself financially without being dependent on his family or on the government. For instance, one could be able to pay his or her school fees or affords to buy a book needed when the family could not meet the means. However, engaging in a paid job and learning simultaneously can hinder the academic performance of the individual, in that, a lot of time needed to study at home after lectures would be spent at the workplace. Also, the undergraduate would be stressed out, would not find enough time to rest or refresh himself for the next day activities. For example, some universities close from lectures in the middle of the day, an hourly-paid student would again, go to work right after class, without having time to go over what was taught during lectures. Furthermore, studies have shown that students who take part-time jobs often feel inferior to those who do not. This can go a long way to affect their self-esteem and would reflect on their social relationships, as well as their academic performance. To cite an example, some elite-youngsters always think that only less- priviledged or poor scholars would have to combine studies with work. This stereotyping has led to many student -workers having lower self-image at school and are always subjected to bullying. To conclude, despite the fact that working as a student can earn one some amount of money to ensure financial stability, the disadvantages outnumber the merits because the student has to go through a great ordeal such as stress, poor academic performance and low self-esteem.