Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for telhe environment. What damages does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

Over the past few decades, there has been a drastic enhancement in usuage of plastic items such as plastic polybags, plastic food packaging materials, plastic water bottles. One cannot deny the fact that immense use of anything and everything brings some adverse consequences. In this essay, I will elicit about harmful effects of such excessive use usuage of plastic materials and provide mitigates to reduce its impact. It is true that plastic made packaging materials are convinient and cheaper way of delivering the breads and drinks to the customer. Also, these packaging material are generally for one time use and major concern arises at the time of disposing such items. For instance, a study conducted by various researchers declared that number of masses dump these plastic bags and bottles in water and it's toxic elements contaminated the water. This is ultimately resulting in extinction of various sea species and animals. Furthermore, if such plastics are burned, chemicals released from polymers in land causes soil erosion or soil pollution. Apart from this, it also results in air pollution when burned. Consequently, these air pollutants causes serious health concerns to the nearby inhabitants. Irrespective of several restrictions imposed by government, plastic packaging items are still available in consumer market. I would like to suggest that government should levy high penal charges on the producers who manufacture such items and provide subsidy to the manufacturing concerns who promotes eco-friendly products such as cloth bags. In addition to this, government should organise seminars in colleges and other educational institutions to spread awareness among public about negative effects of polymers and plastics. Beside this, it is the duty of every individual to follow the rules and regulations formulated by government time to time strictly. In the light of above discussion, I would like to recommend that a strong will and concerted efforts of every individual and government can go a long way in tackling this serious issue.