In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As technology develops, many argue that the government should invest money in new high-speed trains; whereas, others suggest spending this money on improving already existing public transportations. I take the first view and believe that investing money in the construction of new railways is more advantageous. Investment in newly invented trains can save time when travelling to other cities. Time is an important matter especially with people’s hectic lifestyle in these days. While these trains are well known for their 100-kilometres per hour speed nonstop, existing transportation tools only can transfer people 70-kilometres an hour. That is why nowadays we see these railways connecting metropolises more and more. Another advantage of these trains is their energy source. They work by electricity which is an environmentally friendly source of energy and can prevent further air pollution. These trains can transport hundreds of people at the same time, and if people do not have this alternative, they will use their own private cars, which use oil as fuel, leading to the emission of many polluting elements. On the other hand, improving existing public transportations cost less and can save the countries’ money. More than millions of dollars is needed for the infrastructure of these newly invented trains, but only more than half of this amount is needed for the other one. By investing money on already existed ones, the government can save money for more important matters. The policy of Holland on improving existing bus lines and saving about one million dollars for production of cars using solar energy is a good example. To sum up, investing money in construction of new railways for high-speed trains is highly advantageous for time saving and prevention of air pollution, but it should be bear on mind that it can cost a lot. I believe that it is worth spending money on them.