Some people think living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Few individuals in the public believe that residing in either cosmopolitan or metropolitan areas is detrimental to human health.I completely agree with the above statement and in my opinion, pollution, mechanical workstyle and consumption of unhealthy foods are three major reasons behind this. Firstly, with most of the industries & multi-national conglomerates located in major cities and their workforce also living in nearby locations, consequently, only certain areas are densely populated in these places. Most of the others need to commute long distances on their own or public transport. For instance, in,Mumbai around five million people commute daily to work from home using different modes of transport. As a result, there is a rise in the CO2 gas omission into the atmosphere causing serious effects to the people inhaling it. Secondly, owing to the advancement in technology and the recent pandemic lockdown, the public has been leading a very mechanical lifestyle with no physical activity. For instance, in earlier days, people used to spend leisure time in the fields, garden or park, whereas, now everyone is sticking to either the TV, mobiles, or computers with the internet on. As a consequence, they are suffering from obesity, depression and many other disorders. Thirdly, the consumption of frozen and junk foods has significant negative impacts on one's health. It is highly recommended to eat fresh foods, vegetables and fruits by doctors to stay healthy and functioning. The examination of results of recent research suggests that people consuming unhealthy foods have been identified as more vulnerable to deficiency syndromes than others. Hence, doctors recommend eating healthily. In conclusion, centralization of the development and industrialisation in major cities could lead to many disadvantages. Therefore, government authorities should take necessary measures to de-centralize the development and save the ecosystem.