To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

With the growing population over time, the demands for food supplies are also rising tremendously. In developing countries, the nutrient shortage is at a peak, and demands are not met appropriately leading to both nutrition and economic crisis. There's a general debate on whether on not should people consume edible insects as their meals. This essay will address a few positive and negative consequences of the idea and give my opinion later. To begin with, insect consumption can lead to good health and a better immune system. For instance, while looking into the anatomy of an insect, most of them have a common biological and chemical composition of enriched protein and other macronutrients that can boost immunity resulting in a provision of better health. In addition to the wonders related to health, choosing edible tiny creatures as a foodstuff can be beneficial to the economy. For instance, some countries were popularly known for the quality and quantity of agricultural products they imported in past, however, owing to the increasing population, now their people are starving. So putting this idea into practice can mean a lesser dependency on staple meals ultimately improving the economic status. In contrast, there are some serious disadvantages as well. These creatures are always seen in and around dirty places which makes people run away from them. Moreover, their physical appearance scares them from not being at their dining tables. Besides, many cultures such as Islam and Hinduism do not appreciate this particular trend which is one of the reasons why it is not common globally. To conclude, the crisis is real and a huge proportion of the population is starving. In my opinion, a country should evaluate the current problem and adopt different strategies to explore possible solutions while respecting its culture and religion.