Overpopulation in urban area has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that government and individuals can tackle these problems.

It is an undeniable fact that the urbanization rate grows rapidly and it leads to various untoward consequences for many nations. This essay will explore a few problems that occur due to the phenomenon and discuss solutions to resolve the situation. One of the main difficulties the government faces due to the overpopulation in city areas is the shortage of housing and as a result, the high cost of it. The lack of available houses forces citizens to settle in remote areas and spend countless hours on long commuting. The vast majority of Seoul workers, for example, travel from province areas and spend hours daily to reach their offices. Another serious challenge for people living in urban areas is congested traffic. Because of the travelling of a huge number of people, for instance, long hours on the road in the morning and evening are inevitable. Increasing rates of urbanization, indeed, brings numerous difficulties for humankind. To tackle them, however, several effective measures might be taken by the authorities and by people. The government, to begin with, might build and initiate construction projects to supply more houses. In the 1970s, in Seoul, for example, there was a construction boom followed by urbanization in Korea. In terms of traffic problems, at the individual level, in order to ease the situation, people may use public transport on daily basis. As a result, there will be definitely less traffic on the roads. In conclusion, overpopulation in cities creates serious concerns for many countries. This essay revealed that this phenomenon causes a shortage of housing and tremendous traffic congestion, and a sufficient supply of housing by the government and the usage of public transport by individuals will alleviate the issue.