Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?

In the present world, the IT revolution and the internet have changed the world in the most positive ways. Although, these beneficial effects of modern technology touch every field of the world and people of every age, some aged people find difficulties in making themselves up-to-date with these changes and are unable to operate these complex devices. It is very essential to teach and motivate older people to use these gadgets on a routine basis due to several advantages. This essay will discuss significant positive aspects of these advances in life of older people as well as important techniques to encourage them to use these devices. Firstly, people feel more lonely in the later years of their life due to retirement or lack of other activities and, sometimes feel depressed. This technology and the internet allow them to keep themselves in touch with other people. Video calling on mobile phones, for example, is one of the easiest and most handy ways of communicating with family and friends. Moreover, shopping from the comfort of their home is another advantage, especially for those who cannote drive and have limited mobility. Many websites are available on the internet that provides home deliveries. Amazon or online marketplace are great examples of online shopping sites with home deliveries. However, most older people find issues with operating these mobile phones with modern software, and should be motivated to use this technology more often. Younger people in the family can play a major role in teaching their parents or grandparents these applications on phone. For example, changing the language of operating devices to their mother tongue can prove beneficial. To sum up, rapid advances in technology is helpful in every aspect of older people's lives, particularly, for purchasing things online and communicating with loved ones. Though these people have some issues with operating these technologies, the younger generation should encourage them by teaching in a simpler way in their language of understanding.