In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary epoch, because malls and big shopping centres are gaining popularity at an alarming rate, small local stores are abandoned by society. This phenomenon has various drawbacks which would be illustrated in the subsequent paragraph. To commence with, undeniably, Not all people afford to shop in shopping malls and big shopping centres as it is over the odds for middle-class families. That is to say because small shops have closed, the population have to pay extra in order to fulfil their basic needs from the market, particularly the poor community who earn money on daily bases like maids and servants. For example, society sometimes suffers to shop for their monthly groceries as local emporiums are no more available and shopping from plazas or supermarkets is a daunting task for the lower or middle-class population. Hence, the drawback of this development has been explained by the above example. Moving further, the business of small local department stores has been downgraded because of the gaining popularity of malls and shopping centres. To explain, there were families who are completely dependent on the work runs by their elders for decades and because of this development, they have to bear a huge loss. For example, a survey shows that abandoning the local shops which are the only source of income for the family, makes the family suffer to get a new business which is not an easy journey for them. Thus, the above points clearly indicate the negatives of this development. To recapitulate, increasing demand for shopping malls and big shopping centres makes the poor populations suffer to satisfy their family with basic requirements. Moreover, the business of a small local supermarket which runs for decades has to bear a huge loss as a society chooses to shop from shopping centres and supermarkets.