Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. How far do you agree with this statement?

It is true that students ’ reliance on internet -based learning methods is constantly growing in recent years. Although the internet may bring some adverse impacts, this essay disagrees that the use of the internet for education should be prohibited. On the one hand, students may be exposed to negative information when they are studying via the internet and would be affected negatively. While it is true that the internet brings about convenience to learners by providing sufficient data and resources, overwhelmingly, some of the online pages contain unsightly and explicit content and would influence immature students. For example, some online websites usually require information searchers to watch some pop-up window advertisements before showing the content that they are looking for. Yet such advertisements may contain some violent and sexual pictures or videos. If young learners are distracted by such content and become addicted to them, in the long term, their values and ways of thinking would be influenced in a bad way. On the other hand, this essay does not agree that students should not be allowed to use the internet as a way of learning since it helps students learn knowledge better. To begin with, by using the functions of online searching, students can learn with higher efficiency. For instance, they can find out the answers and the analysis via the internet when they are failing to answer some questions, instead of thinking for a long time by themselves. In addition, by using the internet, students are able to learn instructions in many ways, such as through online quizzes and videos, which are more engaging than means of reading books or hearing words from teachers. As a result, students are willing to pay more attention to engage in such approaches to learning and in turn have a better grasp of the disciplines. In conclusion, undoubtedly, although the internet may provide some negative information to students, it should not be restricted since it allows students to learn faster and understand knowledge via better interesting approaches. In fact, I believe teachers and parents should control the ways that students use the internet in order to prevent them from being exposed to negative information.