Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, promotion and as result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What can could be done to encourage people to buy local production

Nowadays, many people are attracted to purchase items sold by big organisations because of their level of advertisement. I believe this can lead to people buying inferior products and the loss of small businesses. Encouraging local businesses through incentives and support from the government are ways that can improve the patronage of local businesses. The heavy investment of large organisations in the advertisement of their product causes some problems. Firstly, it can lead to the proliferation of items of low quality in the market. In other words, buyers will not ask questions about the quality of the material as their thoughts have been dominated by commercials promoting these products. For instance, some of the most popular soaps in the store, I have bought do not lather when compared to the products that are not known. Secondly, this act of advertising can cause a dearth of local businesses. This means market domination by big products causes low patronage of locally produced items, thereby driving them out of the market space. One major way to encourage individuals to patronise small indigenous businesses is through governmental support to these businesses. The provision of tax cuts and other forms of education on branding could help them compete effectively with their larger contemporaries. Furthermore, the support from the government helps them to sell their products at a cheaper rate making them attractive to consumers. For example, people buy cheaper products irrespective of the brand when they go shopping. In conclusion, the domination of the market by larger businesses due to their marketing strategy can cause the sale of inferior materials and the elimination of local businesses. This provision of support to drive down prices are ways to encourage purchases from local businesses.