Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school than at secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Several specialists believe that it is more beneficial to introduce a second language earlier in childhood, during elementary school than later in adolescence, during high school. This essay will corroborate that the benefits of this practice outweigh the downsides. The main advantage is that children at this age learn faster than during adolescence. In contrast, the main drawback is that schoolers are more prone to losing motivation. The two main benefits of learning a new language as a kid are, firstly, that children are more receptive to learning, as opposed to teenagers, and secondly, connecting with a different culture at a young age can spark creativity and greater understanding. It is a widely known fact that kids’ brains behave similarly to sponges that soak up knowledge, which makes this the perfect time in someone’s life to learn something new. A study carried out by the British Council shows that 8 out of 10 people who achieved over 7 in IELTS began their journey of learning English before being 12 years old. Moreover, getting to assimilate different cultures as a young person is very meaningful to personal growth. There really are not many drawbacks to acquiring a new language from a young age, but the two main ones are having a bad experience and losing interest, and the fact that kids have many obligations already. Firstly, having a bad teacher is not a common occurrence, and even so, completely rejecting a subject is something that is more common in adolescence rather than in childhood. For example, my sister had a bad experience with her French teacher when she was 8 years old but she still managed to learn French from the age of 10 onwards. Secondly, primary school is a time for children to play as well as learn, and some believe that sometimes the weight of too many subjects can have a detrimental impact on their well-being. In conclusion, despite the potential disadvantages of having a bad experience or children having too many responsibilities, there is simply too much to gain from learning a foreign language in primary school rather than waiting until secondary school, such as an easier learning process and wider knowledge of a culture