In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It has been seen and proven through different studies that some individuals tend to try harder and expend more energy in academics as well as in professional work environments. In the section underneath, this essay shall put forth ambition as the main driver as well as highlight the benefits of the discussed behaviour. First, ambition is the main reason expressed by the population when asked about why they put extra effort into what they do, going above and beyond expectations. There are several reasons that lead some individuals to work harder in order to achieve their personal development, among which, looking for opportunities to reach a better and wealthy life than the one they had when growing up, can be highlighted. For instance, Elon Mask, the richest man in the world, has expressed in several interviews that two thousand dollars and a bag full of books were all he had when he moved to the United States at the beginning of his career. Second, it is worth working hard, since it helps humans feel fulfilled, thus improving their mental and physical health. Some argue that working longer hours or devoting most of the time to studying could be potentially harmful and lead to mental or health disorders. However, human beings' lives are driven by ambition, projects, and dreams, and working hard helps them to get closer to their objectives, which gives their lives not only a sense of purpose and achievement but also feeds their self-esteem. According to a study run by the Australian Neuroscience journal, people that achieve their goals are 30% happier than people who do not. In conclusion, dedicating energy and passion encourage individuals to achieve their academic targets, or conquer their professional challenges. In short, working hard is key to achieving success, which in the end makes everyone healthier and happier.