increasing number of people are choosing cosmetology surgery to improve their appearance. What are the reasons? Do you think is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, appearance plays a fundamental role in people’s life. Due to this, individuals are constantly put under pressure by the judgment of society. Recent surveys have shown that cosmetic surgery has gained a lot of popularity among people. I think that this trend brings negative aspects and in this essay I will explain my motivations. There are numerous reasons behind this new tendency. One of them is that individuals feel very uncomfortable with their bodies. With the diffusion of social media like Instagram and TikTok, we are constantly exposed to fashion models, web stars and other influencers who embody the common concept of beauty, thus the average person starts to think of not being enough. Another reason is that today, beauty is considered the most important feature, especially among women. This leads to an obsession with the external aspect, making these individuals always look for new ways to improve their body, and mainly their face. This takes us to the second section of the essay, namely the disadvantages of this phenomenon. Firstly, this behaviour can strongly influence new generations, which always try to imitate adult and their idols. With the spread of cosmetic,surgery we can suggest to youngsters to not be happy with their imperfections and feel unhappy about their lives. For instance, some young fans of a fashion model can be triggered by seeing on Internet the pictures of their idol without imperfections and starting to appreciate less themselves. Secondly, this kind of surgical operation are very expensive and can damage the financial situation of a single person, or worse, of the whole family. People should use their money wisely instead of wasting them on obsessions like this. Without forgetting that this kind of operation can be very dangerous for health. To conclude, today people are choosing cosmetology surgery to improve their image because we live in a society where individuals are scared to be judged and, more important, they do not feel sure of themselves. Furthermore, I consider this as a negative development because it can ruin the self-esteem of new generations by giving them the wrong example and also because is very expensive.