Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Every language that dies out is a tragedy because the subsequent culture also dies with it. The wisdom of humanity is coded in language. Once a language dies, knowledge dies with it. For example, in the Inuit speech, there are many words to decode snow. This is an example of how different cultures see the world and how different their lives are as well. We cannot accede to those stories, tales, to the culture underlying this tongue any longer. We should not have to come to terms with the fact that part of our humanity will vanish with this extinct language, as you do as if having a black hole in our cultural heritage was unregretted. It rather requires a willing suspension of disbelief to think that life will be simpler if there were fewer languages because there are many preconceived ideas around this topic. It would certainly be simpler for those who speak the majority of tongues and dislike diversity. Precisely, people who claim that idioms are unimportant have vested interests in perpetuating only the dominant civilization. My point is that these folk belong to the main language and culture, and they are unable to put themselves in someone’s shoes. Needless to say, vernaculars that die out usually belong to indigenous communities, or by and large, they are not spoken by most major speakers. These affirmations, which say there is one language, are transmitted through generations on the ground of authoritarianism. Back to my original point, they are completely groundless. For example, in Spain, autonomic mother tongues were forbidden during Franco’s dictatorship, and as a result, these vernaculars were severely damaged and their speakers harshly suppressed. This policy of denial led to the present-day reactionary attitude of some people, by which the inhabitants of autonomic communities, supposedly, must speak in Spanish. Even though linguistic policies are trying to restore the good name of proper tongues, and they are being taught in schools, there is still a road ahead while ignorance makes its own way, burying the memory methodically and trying to indoctrinate the speakers to speak Spanish and shame on them. In a nutshell, languages are always under preconception. This is the reason why it is always suspicious the argument about one country-one language.