These days people are living into their 90's and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

It is being thought that a family should be in charge of caring elderly relatives, but some people believe that the government should take these responsibilities. The problem has been raising in developed countries where people are able to live 90 and more years. In my opinion, families must support their previous generations because the government is usually faceless. Family members living in a close-knit family always know better what their parents or other senior relatives require in terms of medical care, mental support, or just know an individual’s personality. Furthermore, families already have the knowledge and abilities to help their elderly, so it should not create a lot of additional hassle. Taking care of a person who raised you or has been with you during your life should be respected and appreciated by a society as well. For instance, a lot of major religions have specific thoughts that approve and inspire people to respect your parents and seniors in general. Some people might not have an immediate family, or they were less connected with other relatives, so there are no humans who are ready to take care of you. That being said, the government should help such individuals. Although they will receive professional help in most cases, it might only damage because government institutions such as retirement houses are faceless, and people working there are not emotionally bound to retired habitants. If I were old, I would not want this destiny. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that the best way to support seniors is to allow them to be with their families when they are retired. I recommend living in extended families where grandparents living with you are considered to be normal.