In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, adolescents in some countries tend to engage in on-the-job training rather than participating in university education. While both pros and cons to this shift, this essay will argue that the merits outweigh the drawbacks. One primary concern of moving young people towards this work-based training is the practical knowledge that can be acquired at the early ages of their lives. This is very beneficial when they become adults because better jobs can be found for them than the people who are at the same age level and only completed tertiary education. There by leading to a luxurious lifestyle with the great confidence they have gathered during the whole time of their training. For example, most of the construction companies recruit people for jobs are the ones with a lot of prior experience and skills in the work related to that job. However, on the other hand, some juveniles find it difficult to grab the technical parts during their training due to the lack of education in basic theories and concepts related to the work they do. This will lead to a decrease in the enthusiasm towards the work they engage in resulting in leaving the job. Finally, they will wonder here and there seeking what to do to earn money to maintain their lives. To conclude, I personally believe that moving towards apprenticeship at a young age presents certain challenges, but the advantages of this shift offer can not be overlooked. However, it is essential to ensure that these youngsters receive good quality training not only with the physical activities but also with the technical knowledge involved with those tasks.