In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

It is commonly taught to children that hard work makes people capable of achieving anything they set their minds to. This state of mind can have benefits as well as drawbacks for the youth, and this essay will discuss these two effects in the following paragraphs. To begin with, trying hard enough to achieve certain tasks has many advantages. One of them would be the motivation that this state of mind allows, as it pushes us to do our best to reach our objectives. Moreover, this thought makes us eager to learn and drives us to our full potential. In academic studies, for example, consistent and serious work usually pays off with good grades and provides a sense of fulfilment. Thus, children raised with this idea are usually impacted positively and, consequently, achieve elite outcomes. On the other hand, this state of mind has some disadvantages as well, such as the frustration that might happen if a person can not achieve a certain result despite working hard. It is well known that in life, some outcomes are not meant to happen even if we try our best, which can lead to jealousy between individuals, particularly when talking about the material side. To illustrate this, it is sometimes not easy to obtain financial freedom when working as an employee, even when trying fiercely, leading to envy towards others who might have things we desire. To summarize, I personally envision that the advantages of trying hard to achieve something outweigh the drawbacks because it leads to motivated and eager-to-learn young adults, which makes them reach their full potential.