Some people think personal happiness is closely related to economic success, while others believe that it depends on other factors. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that personal happiness and financial success are closely tied because wealth provides convenience, while others believe that happiness relies on other things such as social relationships. I personally believe that happiness is more affected by social relations than economic growth. First, the reason for people insisting that wealth decides personal happiness is that money makes our life more comfortable. To be specific, by accumulating wealth, people do not need to experience economic hardships for living or limit their life on their budget. By achieving financial success, people can be liberated from the inconvenience caused by poverty. As individuals improve their quality of life, they will be able to find happiness and contentment. Indeed, in a study from 2010, Princeton University researchers found that people ’s happiness increases with their salary, but only up to $75,000 a year. As the income went higher, it allow people to satisfy basic needs, leading to concrete improvements in their daily experiences. The funny fact is that, for incomes below $75,000, larger incomes were associated with greater experienced well-being, but beyond $75,000, there was no further improvement. ////A possible implication is that, beyond $75,000, money is just a way of “keeping score” in life, and there might be little reason to care about further increases in income as far as one’s day-to-day experience are concerned. ////For this reason, I disagree that more money leads to greater happiness because money has limits at some point. On the other hand, some people believe that stable social relationships largely affect personal happiness in life. In fact, the No.1 contributor to happiness is the quality of a person’s social circle and it’s human nature for people to pursue a sense of belonging. Through well-connected / established social groups such as harmonious family, lovers, or friends, individuals can find emotional bondings to feel assured and lean on. Being interconnected with friends and the community, people can find full of compassion, patience, and altruism toward others. For example, sociologists at the University of California at Berkeley studied the link between social connections and happiness. The upshot of 50 years of happiness research showed that the quantity and quality of a person’s social connections are so closely related to well-being and personal happiness that the two can practically be equated. As a result, people with stable friendships were less likely to experience sadness, loneliness, low self-esteem, and problems with eating and sleeping. In my opinion, I agree that being in healthy social relations outweighs financial achievements for personal happiness because to enjoy material affluence needs a prior condition which is psychological stability based on social connections. In conclusion, while some individuals think that having money brings convenience, which makes people happier, others think that happiness depends on other factors like social connections. In my opinion, social interactions have a greater impact on happiness than economic development because personal happiness is more influenced by psychological stability based on social connections than one’s financial status.