In a number of countries, somepeople think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a debate among individuals about the importance of spending money on establishing new railways compared to the advantages of renovating old public transportation. A group of individuals present the view that the budget should be spent on building railways to accelerate the pace of trains, whereas others believe the current transportation system requires refurbishment. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that the former public transportation needs upgrading as it has some defects that can lead to serious issues such as car accidents, traffic jams and air pollution. Therefore, the government should prioritize renovating current roads and transportation to spend money rather than building new railways. For example, according to an article published by Times Magazine in 2019, a vast number of accidents occur due to the breakdown of public transport. On the other hand, another group of people claim that it is crucial for a country to have a fast and advanced train system. Hence, the government should spend money to set up new railways in order to achieve this goal. They insist that in this way, the pace of communication is more likely to increase. Moreover, it would be more convenient and modern. However, I do not find this argument convincing as I believe that as long as there are a lot of shortages in the present public transport, expending money for modernizing new railways is not necessary. To conclude, in my view, a sizable amount of money should be spent on renovating existing public transport, as its failure causes some problems like traffic congestion and car crashes. Moreover, building railway lines for fast-paced trains is not an important issue to spend budgets as long as current transportation is out of date