Q. More and more people are shifting to cities from countryside. Does this have advantages or disadvantages on environment?

It has been observed that each year the population relocates to the city centre, instead of staying in the rural areas. This has been extremely harmful to the environment as the urban areas are crowded and forests have been cut off to create more spaces, and also pollution has dramatically increased. The following paragraphs will highlight the downsides of this and some relevant examples. First of all, individuals are moving to big cities as there are more job opportunities, but it is causing problems not only with accommodations but also many environmental issues. The forests have been cut off to create more spaces to build houses. For instance, the biggest rainforest which is Amazon has been damaged and the number of houses has risen in a worrying way as it has been impacted by clime changes and many countries are suffering from that. Moreover, the pollution from cars and industries that are rising significantly as the population has to use their cars to get to work. For example, a survey made in the city of São Paulo has shown the rose of vehicles on the main street from ten years ago and how damaging it is to nature. Consequently, a lot of CO2 is released by them harming the atmosphere and making it even worse than global warming. For that reason, the environment has been harmed by people's actions such as moving to big centres and using cars to locomote. To conclude, families are shifting from the countryside to the cities making this situation even worse for the environment. The government should take quick action to solve this problem and provide job opportunities in the small communities preventing overflow in the big centres.