Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. what are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Multiple studies have shown around 1 in 10 kids are addicted to video games.The current generation of children is obsessed with computer games, while parents feel that it provides no academic benefit, it also affects the cognitive and physical development of a child. In this,essay we will discuss the negative effects of computer games and ways to mitigate the harmful effects. With the invasion of technology into our homes, children are getting easy access to computer games. Schools are also now implementing many academic activities through online games to make them interesting and engaging for the students. Due to this, youngsters have constant access to gadgets like laptops or mobile which gives them plenty of opportunities to play these games. Unfortunately this is being done at the cost of their emotional, cognitive, social and physical development. The obsession with playing games is making them socially aloof. They prefer to rather play alone in their room than interact with their family or friends. The gaming platform is Also where they develop friendships with complete strangers who may not be the right influence for them.Constant gaming also affects physical development as they hardly go outdoors to play. Video gaming may alsohave bad effects on some children ’s health, including eye strain, headaches, and video -induced seizures. Studies have shown that children who spend a lot of time on-screen display features of attention deficit. Engaging in screen time just before going contributes to sleep disturbance leading to exhaustion. Violent video games are not only associated with aggression and lower empathy but emotional callousness as well.Academic achievement may be negatively related to over-all time overalltime spent playing video games. Having discussed the harmful effects, we also need to understand the reality that video games is a part of children life now. We may not be able to completely remove them but can definitely look at ways to minimise the effects by Limiting the Time spent tspend on video games to just an Hour or Less Per Day, and being mindful to Issues that may Arise from Excessive Gaming,developing trust and confidence so a child would socialize and finally Encouraging Outdoor Activities. In a nutshell, I strongly agree that computergames are addictive and hold little value. Schools and parents have equal responsibility to make sure that access to these platforms is limited and that they have more opportunities to participate in sports.