In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause? suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of the ageing populations.

It is evident that in the industrialized countries, the lifespan of an average person has increased more than ever. This phenomenon has naturally created some issues for the older population and for the society in general. This essay will discuss some problems associated with this development / situation and explore potential solutions to mitigate the same. To begin with, the aged population will put a lot of burden on a country‘s economy. This is because governments will have to spend the taxpayers’ money on the social security health care / medical care of these people. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, all the governments around the globe had to spend extra money to protect the most vulnerable population, the seniors. It will also create problems for the elderly themselves as they often find it difficult to cope with the changing times. Since older people are reluctant to change and to adopt new technology, they may sometimes find it challenging to fulfil their basic needs. For instance, many supermarkets or transportation systems use automated billing and ticketing systems that may put the elderly people behind the curve. There are, however, some measures that can be put into place. Firstly, governments and private organizations should modify retirement programs. Individuals from a young age should be persuaded to prepare for post-retirement life. To elucidate, better 401K programs should be designed where certain contributions are made mandatory for the individuals as they begin their careers. This will help reduce the stress on society in the future. Secondly, educational programs should be designed and encouraged by the governments for the seniors. These programs can help the elderly to perform crucial tasks. For instance, with the help of virtual reality similar technologies, special programs can be conducted in senior livings or in libraries that can benefit the aged population in their day-to-day life. In conclusion, there is no doubt that with the latest innovations and better medical treatments, life expectancy will continue to grow steadily. This will certainly pose some challenges for the nations and for the elderly themselves; however, if better preparations are taken by the seniors themselves and the government, the magnitude of these problems can be reduced to a great extent