When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Technology has revolutionised our world in many aspects. It definitely improved our way of life now. However, it is argued that traditional skills are diminishing because of the existence of technology. The following paragraphs will elaborate on why I partially agree on this matter and why it is important to embrace technology at the same time preserve our conventional way of life. On the one hand, the main objective of using technology is to make people ’s lives better than in the past. Conventional skills can be improved with technology such as communicating with people and travelling from place to place. For instance, social media platforms are a helpful way to keep in touch with loved ones instantly even if they are miles apart. Also, the transport system has progressed over time and people are able to ride aeroplanes for travelling unlike before. On the other hand, technology has a negative impact on society too, especially if people misuse and abuse these devices. In this age of modernisation, most companies now are dependent on their computers for work purposes and to save their information. Unfortunately, there are numerous cases of hacking and phishing not only locally but internationally. If people would still do the manual way of storing their data like using pen and paper, hackers cannot steal their information easily. Aside from that, conventional skills should also be preserved because of their historical and cultural importance. In conclusion, I believe that technology and traditional skills can co-exist in this modern society. People should be knowledgeable in using technology as well as appreciating and understanding the value of manual skills.