children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case? what measures can you suggest to encourage higher level of activity among children

The advancement of technology has a significant impact on our lives in today’s society. Thus, there is an increasing number of children watching television than in the past, and it reduces their activity levels. From my perspective, the development of technology is the main cause of this issue, and there are several methods that can enhance children ’s level of activity. Without a doubt, the convenience of technology provides children diversity of entertainment. Through television, children can be easily attracted to content that is funny and appropriate for them, and they can spend long hours watching TV programs such as cartoons. As a consequence, children might be addicted to TV and not want to exercise. Meanwhile, parents are also involved in this concern. Since television is attractive to children, parents can use them to take care of their kids while they are busy as children will settle down and be quiet. Consequently, children may suffer from some diseases such as being overweight, and short-sightedness because they do not take part in other activities. In contrast, there are several measures that can encourage children to have a higher level of activity. First of all, parents can limit the amount of time that their children watch television, yet they can suggest youngsters hang out with friends. Furthermore, joining a club or an extracurricular class is an alternative choice for them, and they will be able to enhance their social skills and stay away from the TV. For instance, parents can take their children to a basketball center, and children can make new friends and strengthen their health condition. To sum up, the level of activity among children has decreased due to the overuse of television; however, there are some ways to encourage higher levels of activity.