Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

In this modern education system, the ways of evaluating a student's performance have changed significantly. There are numerous ways to check the student's progress throughout the academic year. It disagrees that formal examinations are the only means to assess, while assessment through coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Analyzing the fact that assigning the projects and assignments not only keeps the students up-to-date and creative but also gives them a sense of responsibility and time management, will prove this. Firstly, the practical projects and duties bring new skills out of the students. For instance, they make their research and collect information from different sources available to them, and use that data to make their project. In addition to that, during this process, they learn various new skills and acquire the knowledge they seek. Secondly, when students make projects on their own, they learn time management. Meanwhile, they get a sense of responsibility for completing a task in a fixed time period. For example, they would know how many hours to be given to a particular task and complete it before its submission. This will teach them the importance of time management. To summarise, practical work and homework will not only make the students smarter but also bring out their creativity in them. Therefore, they will be better evaluated on their intelligence and creativity, rather than just through formal written examinations. After a thorough analysis of this subject, it is predicted that assessment through assignments in the mid-course produces better and smarter pupils.