Some people believe that all the children in school are required to learn at least one foreign language. However, others say that those who are not talented do not have to learn. What is your opinion?

For children in school, learning a foreign language or not should be determined by the school curriculum. Provided that it is offered as a subject, all students – talented or otherwise - must study it as partial fulfilment of their academic achievement. The study of a foreign language – especially English for children in Grades is now a compulsory requirement at all primary schools in my country although it was not the case just a few years ago. With increased globalisation, comes increased cross-cultural contact and because of this, it is important for children to master at least one foreign language at an early age so as to prepare them for this global society. Understanding a foreign language is also an opportunity for children to learn about and understand a little about another culture or culture. Also, it is an opportunity to cultivate students ’ talent, develop their ability in learning and boost their potential for further education. It is irresponsible, and indeed, even harmful, to separate and label students as talented or not in education at such a tender and vulnerable age. Why should the study of a foreign language alone be used as the only yardstick to label students as talented or not in education? It is advisable to help all students to understand that the study of a foreign language will bring benefit to their studies and, in the future, their careers. Thus, I feel that it is not healthy to advocate the labelling of students as talented or not in the study of languages.