In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

As it has been written in one of the religious books, human beings were created in hardship and arduous situation; therefore, they have to try hard if they want to achieve success and prosperity. Regarding this fact, children are taught that they can obtain everything in case they try hard in some cultures. The aforementioned notion has some merits and demerits which I am going to describe in the following. To begin with, our children are raised as fighter and competitive individuals by following the aforementioned notion, and this method of fostering can make them ready for living in our highly competitive and brutal contemporary world. Experiences have shown that diligence can pave the way of success; for instance, some years ago, Elon Musk was busy sending some shuttles and spacecrafts to space, and all of his attempts were unsuccessful in that he failed more than 10 times as far as I know. However, he did not give up and finally achieved his goals through hard work. Concerning drawbacks, there are some situations in life which are not changeable, and not only can trying hard in order to change the situation make the condition better, but also it can bring you unrepairable damages. For example, providing a person loses his/her both legs during an accident, any effort in order to walk by his/her own feet is unsuccessful in that not accepting the situation only can bring her/him more mental and physical damages. To sum up, regarding the notion that everything can be achieved through hardworking, I believe it is crystal clear that, diligence can help us achieve our goals most of the time; however, sometimes we are supposed to accept that some situations are fixed and can not be changed.