Nowadays more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

Recently, a growing number of mature workforce strive with freshers in the employment market for the same level or role. However, this kind of competition raises serious impacts, such as oversupply and broken salary ranges in the market. This essay will examine these issues and propose potential solutions.

Firstly, a variety of applicants of all ages have resulted in a workforce surplus. A job advertised on a university platform, for instance, can have many applicants from the same classmates, and the competition gets worse if it is open to a wider range of ages. This issue is complex and thus needs government intervention to solve it. One of the ideas is that the government should increase industrialisation for a better employment rate. They can ask a big manufacturing company to open a factory in the country instead of distributing the finished goods only. This solution would specifically help the older or the younger ones, but it will make the competition less tough since the demand from the employer increases.

Secondly, the compensation band could get lower as the freshers may accept a lower salary compared to the senior applicants. This phenomenon benefits the employer as they pay smaller costs, but at some point, the lower compensation can go downhill, and it would not cover the financial needs even for the younger groups. An alternative way to handle this is that the senior ones should aim for higher roles. In order to achieve that, they have to prepare the skills needed for the position. Getting enrolled in an MBA, for example, may enable them to see the problems at higher levels. Not only MBA, but workshops such as leadership or communication can also help them to excel in the substantial skills for the managerial level.

In summary, workforce growth with the same demand causes several issues, such as labour force oversupply and broken pay rates. To address this, the authority in the country should grow the job market with industrialization and the senior one should increase their capacity to achieve a better level of employment.