In the developed world,average life expectency is increasing.What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is opined that people are living longer than before in developed nations and thought it might lead to problems for society and individuals. The median quality of life in many developed countries continues to increase these days. However, there are myriad negative implications this event will have on individuals and society. Firstly, many individuals will have to deal with physically weak people who may slow down the pace of their activities. For example, those households with aged people will have to factor their aged person into their daily activities plan, like when they can go out or when they can sleep because the aged person needs constant monitoring and care. Therefore, the longer the aged person lives, the longer the travails of their family carers. In terms of society, aged people have less to contribute to productivity due to their lack of strength to participate in the workforce. In order words, they only belong to the consuming groups in society. For example, they belong to customers that visit shops to buy food ingredients and other daily consumables but lack the capacity to work for these food ingredients either on a farm or through a sales outlet. Nevertheless, there are various solutions to the negative impacts of the ageing population on society and individuals. The primary solution is that the government should fund establishing aged care homes so that these set of people could be moved into care homes, where professional carers would be employed to look after them. Secondly, those aged people who still have some strengths should be employed in work positions with light activities. For example, Rose is a food shop worker and only works three days per week at self-checkout due to her old age. In this instance, Rose has become productive for society. In conclusion, though aged people can be a challenge for individuals and society, they can still be managed in a way that will add value to society.